South Berne Mill
Built on the site of the former Culver Cloth Mill.
- Elias Zeh, (1839-1907) built the South Berne Grist Mill before 1880.. The Zeh operation had the capacity for grinding 20,000 bushels of grain a year.
- The grist mill burned, and in the early 1900s Charles Onderdonk (1866-1934) purchased the property and rebuilt the mill.
The main water supply was from a swampy area a mile above the hamlet of South Berne known as Mud Hollow Pond. A smaller dam at the mill site with a high stone bulkhead (still intact) was the direct power supply to the mill site. As this dam had a gradual sloping bottom it was used by churches for immersion baptism.
Onderdonk had an earthen dam built across the drainage stream of Mud Hollow Pond, which is now known as Onderdonk Lake.
Onderdonk used a steam Engine when the water supply was low.